Return to Headlines

Parent Advisory Committee Announces Award Winners

On Thursday, June 15, the Kalamazoo RESA Board of Education recognized recipients of the 2023 Excellence in Special Education Awards. Each year, the Special Education Parent Advisory Committee (PAC) solicits nominations from families and students in order to honor special educators who go above and beyond. This year, four outstanding educators from KRESA were selected:

Maria Cuevas, Young Adult Program
Krystina D'Arcy, Autism at Amberly Elementary
Nicolle Kirk, WoodsEdge Learning Center
Kara Mounce, Deaf/Hard of Hearing at Angling Road Elementary

Here is the full list of this year’s recipients:



Ellen Hoyt

Patty Schuring


Gull Lake

Theresa DeYoung

Amy Renouf



Heidi Ali

Susan Harrison



Maria Cuevas

Krystina D’Arcy

Nicolle Kirk

Kara Mounce



Scott Gardner

Ashley Lint

Nellie Meachum



Casey Badders

Jessica Jeffrey


Congratulations to all of the hardworking and compassionate people from across Kalamazoo County who were chosen! For more information about Special Education at KRESA or the Special Education Parent Advisory Committee, visit our website,