Return to Headlines

84 Kalamazoo County high school seniors honored by Education for Employment

KALAMAZOO, MI -- Eight-four Kalamazoo County high school seniors were honored last week by the Education for Employment program for their achievements in career development and academics.
EFE is run by the Kalamazoo Regional Educational Service Agency, and is the countywide career-tech education program for high school students.

Also at the awards ceremony, the OnStaff Group received the 2014 EFE Employer Appreciation Award for partnering with EFE’s business programs. Accepting the award were Emily Turner, executive vice president of OnStaff Group, and Cody Allkins, vice president of finance.

The student winners are listed below by high school and EFE program they attended:


efe Nichole DeVries, marketing;
Sam Eshuis, marketing;
Shelby Gray, accounting;
Crystal Lawrence, virtual enterprise international;
Travis Rupert, virtual enterprise international;
Brenton Skelton, accounting.


Cheyann Fry, fundamentals of health science
Chris Glasser, law enforcement;
Monica Gordon, restaurant and travel management.


Liz Bolhuis, cosmetology;
Jordan Born, accounting;
Brianna Buller, business management administration;
Brad Hosmer, banking and finance;
Christie Schmitt, marketing.
Gull Lake

Julia Avery, marketing
Kaitlyn Briggs, school web design;
Aaron Claussen, school web design;
Michael Crawford, drafting technology;
Susanne Crum, electronics and robotics
Morgan Feltner, accounting;
Maria Foley, marketing;
Ellie Harnden, teacher education;
Andrew Madison, construction trades,
John Neumann, computer technology;
Collin Rickey, accounting
Preston Willis, business management
Sophia Wright, cooperative education.

Hackett Catholic Central

Daniel Doud, electronics and robotics technology.

Kalamazoo Central

Laura Ceballos, digital imaging/photography;
Javius Cunningham, marketing;
Tony DeVauld, accounting;
Alexandria Hammond, veterinary science;
Frederick Harrison, automotive technology/marking
Symphony Ollie,  marketing;
Ahmad Shammas, drafting technology;
Della Uekert, digital imaging/photography.

Loy Norrix

Emily Dark, Out of the Wild;
Doungbagai Leo, Fundamentals of Health Science;
Sariah Metcalfe, marketing.


Evelyn Aguilar, digital imaging/photography;
Cristien Arzate, culinary arts;
Rogelio Batas Jr., marketing;
Nathanael Timmons, business management
Alex Walker, law enforcement;
Ashley Walker, marketing.
Portage Central

Logan Crespo, digital video production;
Alexandra Crowell, restaurant and travel management;
Shelby Mannes, digital imaging/photography;
Payton Mills, marketing;
Mitchell Newhouse , Out of the Wild;
Jacob Peterson, drafting technology;
Marissa Quivey, restaurant and travel management;
Alec Raifsnider, construction trades;
Stephanie Raifsnider, health science;
Hannah Thomas, health science.

Portage Northern

Tyler Cummings, business management administration;
Alex Dekau, computer technology;
Tamar Grode, accounting;
Dylan Jones, teacher education;
Kaleigh Mikkelborg, art and design career skills;
Sierra Millers, teacher education;
Nathan Mine, cooperative education;
Samantha O'Brien, accounting;
Abigail Peterson, health science;
Avery Roper, aviation technology;
Ryan Salayer, furniture and cabinet-making;
Bradford Tabor, business management administration;
Jordan Taffee, marketing;
Takarri Whitley, Fundamentals of Health Science.


Taylor-Jordan Blodgett, accounting;
Annastasia Sampley, dental assisting.


Shane Chambers, engineering design;
Logan Clarey, computerized manufacturing;
Breanna Conant, accounting;
Kevin Couk, computerized manufacturing;
Zachary Decker, wildlife and natural resources;
Sarah Donelson, culinary arts;
Haley Dunham, wildlife and natural resources
Brad Goertler, law enforcement;
Cody Mays, wildlife and natural resources;
Hunter Morelandr, business management administration;
Amanda Springer, business management administration;
Sarah Westman, electronics and robotics technology;
John Wright, engineering design.