Automobile Skills Testing
Kalamazoo RESA is located at 1819 East Milham, Portage MI 49002 (between Portage Road and Lovers Lane).
Road tests are by appointment. Morning appointments are available weekdays and weekends. Weekday afternoon appointments are limited. Mr. Rank, the examiner, instructs drivers education with EZ Way and cannot test clients that he has provided "behind the wheel" training. If you are interested in an appointment, please call 250-9290, Monday- Friday from 8:00-4:00. We do not offer rental vehicles.
Kalamazoo RESA charges $40.00 for the automobile skills test appointment. The $40.00 fees must be paid a minimum of 2 business days prior to your appointment. Fees are non refundable unless canceling a minimum of 48 hours in advance of your appointment.
It is your responsibility to come prepared for the test. Please read the following information.
Late arrival to your appointment can result in a loss of fees and forfeit of your appointment.
No refund is available if your documents or vehicle do not meet state requirements, or if you are not eligible to road test. Under these circumstances you can reschedule one make up appointment for an additional $20 fee.
You must cancel a minimum of 48 hours prior to your appointment for a full credit toward a future appointment. For your convenience, voice mail is available 24 hours a day at 250-9290 to record your cancellation message.
The road test generally takes 50-60 minutes to complete. Examiners will contact you by phone if your appointment is canceled due to poor weather conditions.
Under age 18 and have completed Segment One and Segment Two courses, you must:
Bring a parent or legal guardian during the road skills test. No additional passengers are permitted.
Bring your validated Level 1 Michigan Driver’s License dated at minimum 180 days.
Bring your Segment 2 Driver's Education course Certificate of Completion.
Bring a vehicle which has a back seat with functioning seat belts for the parent/guardian safety.
Bring photo identification if available.
Age 18 or older and have not previously been licensed in Michigan or any other state or country, you must:
Practice driving on a TIP issued from the Secretary of State office for a minimum of 30 days (unless waived and stamped by the Secretary of State)
Bring photo identification if available. (ex. School, work or discount club identification)
Bring your valid TIP and current proof of insurance and registration for your vehicle.
Only the examiner and applicant may ride in the vehicle during the exam (except for interpreters). Interpreters must bring their license with photo identification to the appointment.
All applicants must bring the following:
A vehicle with current proof of insurance and registration.
A vehicle that is in safe working order. The test vehicle should be one you are familiar with and used during your practice sessions. The examiner may stop the test for equipment defects if the defects are specifically prohibited by law, or if the condition of the vehicle would endanger the safety of its occupants.
Some of the equipment that will be checked at your appointment includes:
To schedule an appointment please call 269.250-9290 Monday – Friday from 8:00-4:00.
Voice mail is available 24 hours a day for your convenience.
Or email your contact information to email@example.com
Last Modified Today at 2:07 PM